10 things to know about driver's license points
Learn how driver's license points are assessed, how long they stick and how they affect your auto insurance rates.
This post comes from Michelle Megna at partner site Insurance.com.
Scoring points is a good thing, unless it's on your driving record. Still, if you know how your state's point system works, you'll have a better game plan for keeping your license -- and your auto insurance rates low. Here are 10 things every driver should know:
1. Auto insurance companies don't rely on state motor vehicle department point systems -- they use their own.
Both state motor vehicle departments and insurance companies use point systems to track driving performance, but they are separate assessments. DMV points are applied when you are convicted of certain traffic violations. If you accumulate too many points within a certain period of time, your license is typically suspended or revoked.
Insurers don't generally pay much attention to DMV points because they use their own point system when deciding how much to raise your rate. Based on the infraction, your rates rise by a predetermined amount at certain thresholds.
"For example, one Minnesota insurer assigns 4 points to a chargeable accident with a claim of $750 or more and 3 points to a speeding conviction for 10 mph over the limit. Its surcharge schedule shows the rate for a driver with 7 points would be multiplied by 1.27 -- that is, a 27 percent increase," says Penny Gusner, consumer analyst for CarInsurance.com.
2. Not all states use point systems.
There are nine states that don’t use points to keep track of bad drivers, but that doesn't mean you're off the hook if you rack up violations. These states simply monitor your driving record to determine if your license should be suspended or taken away. For instance, in Oregon, if you have four accidents or four convictions -- or a combination that totals four -- in a 24-month period, you lose your license for 30 days. And because auto insurers review your driving record, violations can affect your rates.
States that don't currently have a driver’s license points system are:
- Rhode Island
3. Violation points add up and can result in losing your license.
Most moving violations result in points on your record. For example, reckless driving, speeding, illegal turns, not making a complete stop, drunk driving and at-fault accidents all incur points. Each state assesses points under its own laws, but the more serious the violation, the more points you get. Penalties for too many violations or accidents on your record vary greatly from state to state.
In California, points ranging from zero to 3 are assigned based on the severity of an offense. Your license will be suspended for six months and you'll be on probation for a year if you get:
- 4 points in 12 months
- 6 points in 24 months
- 8 points in 36 months
4. Some violations don't trigger points, but you still have to pay the ticket – and insurance increase.
In general, non-moving violations and minor offenses will not result in a point assessment. That means parking tickets and fix-it tickets for things like broken lights will not add points, though you still have to pay the fine. In some states, though, serious violations such as DUI mean an automatic license suspension, so no points are given, but your auto insurance rates will certainly go up. For instance, an Insurance.com analysis found that a ticket for DUI means an average rate increase of 19 percent.
5. Texting tickets can ring up driving points.
Forty-one states ban texting while driving, but less than half consider texting behind the wheel a moving violation. If you're ticketed in a state where texting violations add points to your driving record or are considered moving violations, an insurer may raise your premiums upon review of your driving record.
States with a texting law specifying that violations add points and/or is considered a moving violation include:
- Alabama: 2 points
- Colorado: 1 point
- District of Columbia: 1 point and is a moving violation; 3 points if it is judged to have caused an accident.
- Florida: 3 points and moving violation for second ticket within five years; 2 points if texting ticket received in school safety zone; 6 points if found that unlawful use of wireless communications device results in a car crash
- Georgia: 1 point
- Kentucky: 3 points
- Maryland: 1 point and a moving violation; 3 points if the texting contributed to an accident
- Missouri: 2 points
- Nebraska: 3 points
- New York: 5 points
- New Jersey: 3 points for third offense
- North Dakota: moving violation
- Nevada: first offense not considered a moving violation; repeat offenses add 4 points
- Vermont: 2 points for first offense and 5 points for a subsequent offense
- Virginia: 3 points
- West Virginia: 3 points for third offense
- Wisconsin: 4 points
6. Points can stick to your record for one to 10 years, depending on the violation and your state laws.
In many states, driving record points dog you for two to three years for lesser offenses, but there are exceptions. For instance, in Virginia and Michigan, points stick for two years from the date of conviction. In California, points for minor offenses remain on your record for three years, but DUI and hit-and-run points last for 10 years. In Nevada, points stay on your record for just a year, but major offenses including DUI result in automatic license suspension, rather than points.
7. If you get a ticket and points on your license, there are ways to ease the insurance pain.
Many states allow you to take a defensive driving course to dismiss a violation before it shows up on your record, with the exception of major offenses such as DUI. Rules vary so check with your state insurance commission to find out details. In Virginia, drivers also earn "safe driving points" in addition to demerit points. Safe driving points are assigned for each full calendar year that you hold a valid Virginia driver's license and drive without any violations or suspensions. You can accumulate a total of five safe driving points and you may use these safe driving points to offset demerit points.
8. Some states assign license points even if you're not driving a car.
In Michigan, if you are convicted of DUI on a snowmobile or other off-road recreational vehicle, points can haunt your driving record.
9. When children are involved, seatbelt tickets may mean points.
You won't typically get points if cited for failing to wear your seatbelt, but in New York, if you are ticketed for having a child in the car under age 16 without a seatbelt, the violation adds 3 points to your driving record.
10. In some states, if you're busted by a red-light camera, you get a ticket but not points.
Typically, if you get a ticket for running a red light, you also get driver's license points. But in some states, if you are caught by a red-light camera, you don't get points. Other states tack on points for running red lights regardless of whether a camera or a cop busts you.
For example, Arizona assesses 2 points for red-light tickets, from either a camera or law enforcement. New Jersey, however, tacks on 2 points only if you get a traditional ticket from a police officer.
More from Insurance.com:
VIDEO ON MSN MONEY
Off topic, but MSN in their infinite wisdom would not let people post comments on this so I found this spot to be as good as any.
................and atheists wonder why they are hated.
Both of these subsequent accidents were not your fault, both resulted in no charges against you, yet this same well known carrier refuses to renew your policy, shows it as cancelled because of excessive claims, deliberately down grading you, and that cancellation and downgrade results in your insurance rates doubling. When challenged on it, they steadfastly then refuse to correct their action. It is one thing to decline to renew a policy, another to deliberately downgrade the driver, insuring that their rates will double with other carriers
. The worse part is this same carriers corporate motto is-- to paraphrase: "We just don't do what is legal, we do what is right".
Bottom line, points on your license are far from the only issue you have to deal with once you are forced to make a claim, regardless of your fault. Insurance companies can penalize you substantially for the mistakes of other drivers, and there is nothing you can do about it, but pay the higher premiums, as state law requires you to maintain automobile insurance on your vehicle, or loose your license.
I hate red light cameras and the corruption they usually represent. But lately I find myself wishing our city would bring them back. Why?
STUPID DRIVERS IN ABQ! How stupid? VERY VERY STUPID.
Imagine sitting at a light waiting to go through a large intersection and watching cars turn left (that were coming from the opposite direction). You're light turns green but no, you can't go, not for another 10-15 seconds, because every self important c0ck sucker turning left decided to blow through the turn signal after it changed red. Not just a car or two trying to make a yellow. I'm talking a dozen or more, long after the light was red, long after your light turned green.
phuck these stupid people. I hope they all get tickets. bring back the red light cameras for left turns in ABQ. Not speed cameras, not usual intersection red light cameras. NOPE. Just for the left turn ****s that I deal with 10 times every commute.
If this happens, then you get this.....if this happens, then this......
Too much ****.
Copyright © 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.
Fundamental company data and historical chart data provided by Morningstar Inc. Real-time index quotes and delayed quotes supplied by Morningstar Inc. Quotes delayed by up to 15 minutes, except where indicated otherwise. Fund summary, fund performance and dividend data provided by Morningstar Inc. Analyst recommendations provided by Zacks Investment Research. StockScouter data provided by Verus Analytics. IPO data provided by Hoover's Inc. Index membership data provided by Morningstar Inc.
Occupy Wall Street bought and forgave the student loan debt of more than 2,700 Everest College students.
MUST-SEE ON MSN
- Video: Easy DIY smoked meats at home
A charcuterie master shares his process for cold-smoking meat at home.
- Jetpacks about to go mainstream
- Weird things covered by home insurance
- Bing: 70 percent of adults report 'digital eye strain'