The extremely high cost of a DUI
Those 3 beers at happy hour could turn into a $15,000 ordeal if you're arrested and convicted of drunken driving. There are lots of ways to get home safely.
This post comes from Craig Donofrio at partner site Money Talks News.
At its worst, drinking and driving can be fatal -- for you or for someone else. At best, a drunken-driving conviction will cost you thousands of dollars in fines, attorney's fees and higher insurance premiums.
Ted Hollander, a lawyer who handles DUI cases at The Ticket Clinic, told Money Talks News founder Stacy Johnson that a DUI can easily cost a driver $15,000. CarInsurance.com estimates that a first drunken-driving conviction will cost at least $10,000.
Where do all those costs come from?
Initial costs and fines
Upon your arrest, you'll likely have to post bail -- from several hundred to several thousand dollars -- which will be returned to you minus nonrefundable fees if you appear as scheduled in court. You may also have to pay towing and impound fees to get your car back, likely an additional $100 to $200.
Upon your conviction, you'll pay a fine, which can run from the hundreds to thousands of dollars, plus additional court costs. For instance, the fine for a first offense in Texas is up to $2,000, and $10,000 if there was a passenger younger than 15 in the car.
You'll be required to take a class on the dangers of drunken driving, and you'll have to pay for it. In Florida, it's $250 for a 12-hour class. In Connecticut, you’ll be looking at $550 or $750 for a 10- or 15-week program. Plus, there's an additional cost for drug and alcohol screening.
Your license will be suspended, possibly for a year. To get it back, you'll have to pay a restoration fee, which varies by state. In New Jersey, for example, it'll cost you $100. In Minnesota, reinstatement costs $680.
The fee charged by your lawyer can vary by experience level, location and the complexity of the case. An MSN Money article gives a range of $250 for entering a guilty plea to up to $25,000 if you fight the charge in court.
According to Insurance.com, a DUI will increase your insurance by an average of 19%. However, the increase can vary depending on factors like where you live and your insurance company. A recent blog post on CarInsurance.com gave an example of a typical California driver who would pay at least $2,500 more per year. (Use Insurance.com's "Uh, Oh!" calculator for an estimate.)
How long you'll pay a higher insurance rate depends on your insurance company, but generally it’s no less than three years.
An ignition interlock is a device that records your blood alcohol content and allows the car to start only if your BAC is below a set limit. Installation costs $100 to $200, and monthly rental fees range from $70 to $100, according to IgnitionInterlockDevice.org. Regular maintenance and calibration cost extra.
Fourteen states require ignition interlocks after a first conviction. For example, Connecticut suspends a first-time DUI offender’s license for 45 days, then requires an ignition interlock device be installed in all of the offender's registered vehicles for a year.
Other consequences could drive the financial drain of a DUI way above the $10,000 to $15,000 mark. In a worst-case scenario, you'll lose your job, particularly if your occupation requires driving. Also, a DUI could affect the status of your professional license to practice medicine or fly a plane, MSN Money says.
Those who keep their jobs could lose valuable work time attending to the requirements of court appearances, DUI school, community service, counseling and jail.
If you're unable to get a hardship permit that would allow you to drive to and from work while your license is suspended, you'll have to figure in additional transportation costs.
A DUI could also impact future employment. How long the offense remains on your record depends on your state, but in many states it's permanent. A prospective employer will find that information in a background check.
Let's compare all of this with the cost of a taxi, which I figure is $15, including tip, for a trip from downtown New Orleans to my home five miles away. That's one of your options to avoid getting arrested on a charge of DUI.
Here are some others:
- You can schedule SafeRide America via its website to drive your car home if you live in the Atlanta or Tampa, Fla., areas.
- In Georgia, there's a free Drive Sober app to find a ride home, sponsored by the Governor's Office of Highway Safety.
- AAA DUI Justice Link provides an extensive list of sober ride services around the country, broken down by state. Find a nearby service and save the number in your phone. The list was compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- AAA chapters in many states offer Tow To Go and other similar services during holidays.
- The Taxi Finder app has a taxi directory and fare estimator for 40 North American cities.
More on Money Talks News:
Where is all the OUTRAGE for Texting while driving??? We even let it have a gentle sounding name "distracted driving"............ hell gals even like that.... they like being distracting.
Moms hate drinkers but after all it's their daughters texting........ don't want to offend their sensitivity.
My daughter got a Dui. With the classes, fines, etc. it cost $10,000. She also lost her job because
they took away her license and she couldn't get to work. The DUI classes were scheduled during work hours, and so between the lack of transportation and class requirement she lost her job.
I do not condone drunk driving, but this was a first offense, and she's never had a ticket. A lot of people are making a lot of money off DUI's. The courts, the state, the instructors in the classes, the probation officers, etc.
This DUI didn't involve speeding, any accident, weaving, or poor driving. The officer sat outside a night club and anyone leaving was breathalized when they put the key in the car. To get an attorney to represent her would have cost $1800 right up front - money she and the family didn't have.
The amount of alcohol in the blood/breath to get a DUI has gone down year after year. Words to the wise: even one drink can put you over the limit, especially if you are small, lightweight, etc.
It is against the law for drinking before or during driving and you can't text and drive. What is one to do with all of this idle time. I have dinner. I drive with my knees while I eat a big two handed size burger while holding my drink between my knees and reading the paper that is spread out across the passenger seat. Well, I am legal.
If you had a few beers and are sitting stopped at a red light, and an idiot MAD mother talking on her cell phone plows into you........your at fault. Just doesn't seem fair.
I am all for throwing the book at some one if there is personal injury or property damage, but a block away from you home .08 (maybe .05) and your life is ruined, seems excessive to me.
Again, if you hurt somebody, plow into a hot dog stand, or something like that, hang em high. I have no problem with that. My God, we all know drives we wouldn't want to ride with when they are sober, and would gladly get into a tipsy friends car instead.
The fines for any infraction and especially DUI have gone way up since 2006. Soon you can call Colorado: California East.
These laws only apply to normally law abiding citizens who have property and a job. If you are an illegal or a near do well or on welfare, you get a pass because you have no resources.
My brother got a DUI in 2006 and while all the above costs are certainly possible depending on where you live, I'd say that's definitely on the high end of the spectrum. It ended up costing him about $3,000 and half of that was attorney's fees. Also, his driver's license was not suspended. The biggest pain for him was definitely the classes, which were like 2 hours a week for 12 weeks and cost something like $40 a class. Surprisingly, there was no fine, though there were like $400 in court costs. This was in Colorado. Apparently they're relatively easy on you the first time but really throw the book at you for a repeat offense. I think there's mandatory jail time the second time, loss of license for a year and a four figure fine.
Copyright © 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.
Fundamental company data and historical chart data provided by Morningstar Inc. Real-time index quotes and delayed quotes supplied by Morningstar Inc. Quotes delayed by up to 15 minutes, except where indicated otherwise. Fund summary, fund performance and dividend data provided by Morningstar Inc. Analyst recommendations provided by Zacks Investment Research. StockScouter data provided by Verus Analytics. IPO data provided by Hoover's Inc. Index membership data provided by Morningstar Inc.
ABOUT SMART SPENDING
LATEST BLOG POSTS
Saving just a single month of expenses may take longer than you think. See how your savings rate affects how quickly you can build a solid emergency fund.
VIDEO ON MSN MONEY
BLOGS WE LIKE
MUST-SEE ON MSN
- Video: Easy DIY smoked meats at home
A charcuterie master shares his process for cold-smoking meat at home.
- Jetpacks about to go mainstream
- Weird things covered by home insurance
- Bing: 70 percent of adults report 'digital eye strain'